Skip to main content

Birthparent Services

Open Mic Night

Power of the Spoken Word

Open Mic Night with On Your Feet Foundation


Join us for our first ever Open Mic Night: Power of the Spoken Word!

Words have power. They can heal hurts and give us hope. They can bring joy during times of sadness. They can give us strength when we are feeling weak.

This is an opportunity for birthparents to share original pieces or works written by others that hold special meaning to the performer. They can be works of poetry, favorite quotes, an excerpt from a book you love or a song lyric.

Not ready to share? Come and listen - maybe you will be inspired!


WHEN & WHERE

Sunday, October 17th, 2021

5PM CST | 6PM EST | 4PM MST | 3PM PST

via Zoom


GUIDELINES

  • This event is being recorded.
  • Respect the format. Listen to the open-mic host.  She will give you cues on when your time is up (3 minutes). Please respect her directions. If you are performing, please make sure that your audio/video is working and that you are in a quiet place so that the audience can hear you clearly.
  • Prepare a short intro to your piece. If it's not an original work, please include author/lyricist and source of work (title of book, name of song, movie quote, etc). Please warn everyone if there is explicit or possible triggering material in the piece (ex. sexual assault, strong language, etc).
  • Be respectful of your fellow open mic-ers. Please be respectful when others are sharing their works/pieces. Please keep your audio on MUTE when you are not presenting. Please UNMUTE your audio to clap after each performance.Give feedback after they have finished sharing. Telling them they did a good job, and observing a specific thing that you liked about their performance is a good way to start.
  • Be confident! We are all in this together. We are here to share and support one another. There are no bad or silly pieces! 
  • Stick around and watch the other performers. Please hang around for everyone to share their work/piece.

 

Open Mic Night Registration

First Name
Last Name

Would you like to particpate in the open mic or do you plan on listening only?
Please include the title of the piece. If reading a piece by another author, please include the author's name.

This event will be recorded and portions of the recording may be used by On Your Feet Foundation to promote other events and highlight some of our programs and services. If you do not wish to be identified, you may participate by phone or with your camera off and your profile name left blank/use an alias.

 

Once we receive your registration, you will be registered for the Zoom and the link will be emailed to you at the email address provided.

Thank you for recognizing the importance of post-placement support: